Freedom Frappe

Move over, McDonalds.  You have lost your diabolical hold on me!  Free!  Free!  Thank God Almighty I’m free at last!

And thank you, Pinterest, for turning me on to this idea, although I’m adding something crucial to the original recipe…chocolate!  There might be other chocolate recipes out there, but the one I saw awhile ago just used regular white almond milk and isn’t nearly as palatable as with chocolate milk.

You’ve all had one of McDonald’s Frappes, right?  If not, do yourself a huge favor and NEVER EVER try one.  But since I already know you’ve had one and loved it, then I think I’ll be hearing songs sung in my honor and other praises of glory now that I’m about to help you free yourself from Mcd’s clutches.  Not only will this save some money, but it’s also a huge calorie-saver!  Dark Chocolate Almond Milk only has 120 calories and 3 grams of fat per cup.  For fellow Weight-Watcher dropouts, that’s only 2 points per 8 oz…as opposed to McDonald’s 8 points for a small (12 oz) plain Frappe!  Yowsa!  Not to mention all the questionable ingredients in their frappes, which the above link will take you to the list of.

Freedom Frappe (prepare ice cubes in advance!)

What you will need:

  • Coffee Ice Cubes (see below)
  • Dark Chocolate Almond Milk or regular chocolate milk
  • A blender

Directions:

First things first, you need to make the coffee ice cubes!  It’s taken me awhile to actually procure leftover coffee for this project, because such a thing rarely exists in our house.  In fact, I actually brewed an entire pot of coffee AFTER we already drank our customary morning pot just so I could let it cool and freeze it.

The pictures are pretty self-explanatory, but just in case you’re still confused, pour your lukewarm or cold coffee into an empty ice cube tray and freeze.

If you don’t have an ice-maker and actually NEED all your ice cube trays, simply transfer the frozen cubes to a freezer baggie or container and reclaim your tray.

Now for the fun part!  Grab your coffee cubes and almond milk.

(I realize my coffee is unfrozen in this picture.  Sometimes my brain processes events out of order.)

I discovered almond milk after my second daughter was born.  Both my girls were sensitive to dairy as newborns, and as a breastfeeding mama that meant I had to eliminate all the dairy from my diet.  I won’t go into the trials and tribulations regarding eliminating my favorite food group, but instead mention that I was very happy to find that the dark chocolate almond milk is almost as delicious as real chocolate milk.  You could also use real chocolate milk in this recipe if the thought of almond milk is too hippy for you, but I like the flavor variants the almond milk provides.

Add 8 ounces (1 cup) of milk to the blender.

Add some coffee cubes.  I think 5 is a good amount, it keeps it very chocolatey but doesn’t mask any of the coffee flavor.  You might like more or less than that.

Blend.

Serve, drink, and think of me fondly.

 

Categories: Leftovers

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Freedom Frappe

  1. I have to say that this recipe looks *amazingly* more delicious than *any* fish! 😉 LOL! Who knows… you are starting to like tomatoes and mushrooms. I may come ’round on the fish!

    • LOL! Well, yeah, given a desert-island-choose-between-the-two, I’d probably choose the frappe too:) Then again, those salmon cakes are pretty good… some day when you are feeling adventuresome, try them!

Blog at WordPress.com.

