Yet Another Plug for Kale Chips. Worth It!

kalechips

Check me out!  I made one of those fancy pictures-with-words button thingies!  It took way longer than it needed to, but I couldn’t decide on the font I wanted to use, and then I REALLY couldn’t decide on the COLOR of the font I wanted to use.  I’m still not super content with it, but eventually you just have to say to yourself, “Chelsea, it’s a picture.  Going on a blog.  You have children who want lunch.”

My new camera took this shot!  Cool, huh?  I'm still amazed by some of the stuff this thing can do all on it's own!

My new camera took this shot! Cool, huh? I’m still amazed by some of the stuff this thing can do all on it’s own!

Anyway, I know, I know.  KALE.  Sigh.  It’s all the rage.  Everyone is talking about it.  I’m supposed to rise above the commonplace recipes of the world and post about canning salmon and other interesting things that people aren’t going to find all over Pinterest.  But darn it, kale is good!  And this is totally relevant because I’m using my dehydrator instead of an oven like everyone else…  heh heh!

Actually, the first 10 times I made kale chips (which, by the way, is the only way I’ve ever eaten kale…) I used my oven.  I followed a few suggestions I found online at various degrees of temperature for various amounts of time.  The results were always the same:  One third of the chips were still soggy, one third were burned to a crisp, and the remaining third was edible and addicting.  So finally my husband actually suggested the dehydrator to me!

Folk, we have a winner!  THIS is the best way to make kale chips.  If you don’t have a dehydrator, it’s time to invest in one.  Go on craigslist and get a used one.  You’ll use it for lots of things, but for now you’ll be running it all week making kale chips!  These are just as good as everyone says they are – unlike the crunchy chickpea scam!  (Anyone else disillusioned by those?)

Dehydrated Kale Chips

What you will need:

There’s lots of variations to make these, but the best that I’ve found is salt & vinegar.  You can use regular vinegar, cider vinegar, or leftover sherry vinegar from your preserved garlic experiment!

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Vinegar
  • 1 tsp fine salt or 2 tsp coarse salt

Directions:

Tear leaves away from stems, wash and pat dry with paper towels.  In a gallon-sized resealable bag, add kale, oil , vinegar and half the salt.  Press air out of the bag, and massage the liquids into the leaves.  No need to be gentle!  These leaves are tough!

Tear leaves away from stems, wash and pat dry with paper towels. In a gallon-sized resealable bag, add kale, oil , vinegar and half the salt. Press air out of the bag, and massage the liquids into the leaves. No need to be gentle! These leaves are tough!

Spread the kale onto two trays, sprinkle with remaining salt.

Spread the kale onto two trays, sprinkle with remaining salt. Set dehydrator to Fruits/Vegetables (135*F), turn on.

After about an hour, they should be done!  They should be perfectly crispy, no sogginess at all.  Enjoy!

After about an hour, they should be done! They should be perfectly crispy, no sogginess at all. Enjoy!

And here's the top picture without the text mussing up our view.

And here’s the top picture without the text mussing up our view.

Categories: Dehydrating, Vegetables | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Yet Another Plug for Kale Chips. Worth It!

  1. awielfaert

    Those look so yummy! Kale chips are my favorite! I think you are inspiring me to get a dehydrator. Also i need a tutorial on how to put words on a picture. can you help? Love the photos on the new camera. You are a rock star. Love yours truly!

  2. You should definitely get a dehydrator! You can do so much with them! I used iPiccy.com to edit my picture. You just upload the picture and add text! It’s surprisingly easy! Love you!

  3. debbie ames

    I’ve used a dehydrator to also dry my kale and then powder it for use in smoothies. Last year about 1/2 C. of kale pieces = 1 TBS (scant) of kale powder. Worked for me. I love my kale chips in the dehydrator too! Kale is yummy in tortelli soup and Kale salad (instead of napa cabbage). Gotta try it!

    • That is a fabulous idea, especially to use up the whole leaf! I don’t care for the stems as they are too tough, but I could certainly get behind powdering them and putting that in smoothies! Thanks for the suggestion!

  4. Desiree White

    I am totally doing this! I found kale chips to be ADDICTING but super labor intensive and you are right, it is a crapshoot on how many are going to make it with each batch. JB even loves them. I am getting kale this weekend!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

